The National eHealth Authority (NHEA) consists of 4 main areas:

  • Operations Directorate

  • Data Bank and Related Functions

  • National Contact Point

  • Telemedicine


The organisation and activities of each sector are combined with the departmental organisation, enhancing horizontal cooperation and synergy in HAI actions, with the aim of increasing efficiency and delivering high quality services.

The organisational chart of the EAHY presented below includes 3 main axes, with the Board of Directors, the General Management of the organisation and the 4 Sectors.

Operations Directorate Sector

The Operational Management Sector is responsible for the preparation and supervision of administrative acts, the good operational management of the EAHC, covering issues related to all the services of the Authority. Specifically technical, accounting, legal, compliance with European directives, regulations and laws, employment with European and local programmes and projects.

Data Bank and Related Operations Sector

The Data Bank and Related Operations Division has the overall oversight of the Integrated Electronic Health Record Citizen’s Health Solution (EHR), the definition of electronic health record data specifications, management of the necessary registries, integration and user management and access, and providing knowledge and advice to the Operations and Oversight divisions.

National Contact Point Sector for eHealth

The National Contact Point for eHealth Sector undertake the operational oversight of the National Contact Point (NCP), including managing both evidence and patient data requests, providing secondary and tertiary level support, managing the Master Value Catalogue (MVC) coding and ensuring alignment with any changes from the European Union.

Telemedicine Sector

The Telemedicine Sector is responsible for the supervision of the functionality of telemedicine as well as the adoption of relevant regulations for the implementation and use of telemedicine applications.